Water Quality and Monitoring

Industry and government have been closely monitoring the region’s water quality since the 1970s.

Oil sands projects are required to conduct extensive hydrological studies as part of the Environmental Impact Assessment process and perform ongoing monitoring of both surface and groundwater that may be impacted by operations.

Water Quality

Water quality, quantity and aquatic ecosystems health data in the Athabasca region is collected through various federal and provincial agencies.

Industrial activity on land has the potential to impact water quality. Both mining and in situ oil sands operations must be carefully managed to avoid affecting the quality of surface water (rivers, streams, lakes, ponds and other fresh water sources) and groundwater (provides the base for surface water).

All new oil sands projects require producers to submit an Environmental Impact Assessment as part of the regulatory approvals process. These detailed reports require an assessment of cumulative environmental effects and plans to mitigate any adverse effects. Extensive water studies are carried out as part of the process and operators must perform ongoing monitoring of surface and groundwater resources that may be impacted by operations.

Water data is collected through various federal and provincial agencies to detect any effects of oil sands development on water quality. The Government of Alberta has been monitoring water quality in the region since the early 1970s.

Water quality and testing

A Surface Water Quality Management Framework was developed as part of the Lower Athabasca Regional Plan (LARP). Water quality triggers and limits are identified to give advance notice of less favourable trends and establish minimum quality limits that must not be exceeded. A management response is required if triggers or limits are exceeded.

The Surface Water Quality Management Framework builds on, but does not replace, existing provincial legislation and policy on water quality, wastewater and the aquatic environment. It will not replace existing management systems such as spill reporting or drinking water surveillance. It will, however, fill a key gap by providing a framework in which to monitor and manage long-term, cumulative changes in water quality within the lower Athabasca River.

The Regional Aquatics Monitoring Program (RAMP)
is an industry-funded initiative focused on water quality testing in the oil sands region. RAMP is a multi-stakeholder environmental monitoring program, with the intent to integrate aquatic monitoring activities across different components of the aquatic environment, different geographical locations, and Athabasca oils sands and other developments in the Athabasca oil sands region so that long-term trends, regional issues and potential cumulative effects related to oil sands and other development can be identified and addressed.

Protecting the Athabasca River

The Athabasca River is one of the most intensely monitored bodies of water in the world, with ongoing analysis to ensure that water quality and flow rates are not compromised by industrial operations. Even with forecast oil sands growth, the Athabasca, Peace and Beaver River basins (where oil sands development occurs) remain among the least utilized river basins in Alberta. Environment Canada monitors the water quality of the Athabasca River as part of the Integrated Monitoring Plan for the Oil Sands.

The Athabasca River has always had measurable levels of naturally occurring oil sands-derived hydrocarbon compounds, including Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons, a class of chemicals that occur naturally in coal, crude oil and gasoline. They are also produced when coal, oil, gas, wood, garbage and tobacco are burned. This is because bitumen from exposed oil sands along the riverbanks seeps naturally into the Athabasca River as it cuts its way through the landscape. The aquatic ecosystem in the Lower Athabasca River has adapted to this natural environment.

Groundwater in the region also contains hydrocarbon compounds and other components found in tailings water because groundwater is routinely found to be in contact with oil sands under normal geologic conditions in the region.

SHARE

Surveillance de l’eau

Les membres de l’industrie et le gouvernement surveillent de près la qualité de l’eau de la région depuis les années 1970.

Les responsables des projets d’exploitation de sables bitumineux doivent mener des études hydrologiques approfondies dans le cadre de l’évaluation des impacts environnementaux, et surveiller régulièrement les eaux souterraines et de surface susceptibles d’être touchées par leurs activités.

Qualité de l’eau

Des données sur la quantité et la qualité de l’eau ainsi que sur la santé des écosystèmes aquatiques sont recueillies dans la région de l’Athabasca par divers organismes fédéraux et provinciaux.

Certaines activités industrielles sur les terres peuvent potentiellement affecter la qualité de l’eau. L’extraction minière des sables bitumineux de même que les activités in situ doivent être soigneusement gérées pour éviter d’affecter la qualité des eaux de surface (rivières, ruisseaux, lacs, étangs et autre sources d’eau douce) et des eaux souterraines, qui influencent les eaux de surface. 

Pour chaque nouveau projet dans le secteur des sables bitumineux, l’exploitant doit soumettre une étude d’impact sur l’environnement, dans le cadre du processus d’approbation réglementaire. De telles études, sous forme de rapports détaillés, nécessitent une évaluation des effets environnementaux cumulatifs du projet et doivent présenter les plans d’atténuation de tout effet indésirable. Le processus doit prévoir des études approfondies sur l’eau et les exploitants doivent effectuer une surveillance constante des eaux souterraines et de surface qui pourraient être touchées par leurs activités.

Des données sur l’eau sont recueillies par différents organismes fédéraux et provinciaux, dans le but de déceler tout impact que l’exploitation des sables bitumineux pourrait avoir sur la qualité de l’eau.  Le gouvernement de l’Alberta surveille la qualité de l’eau de la région depuis le début des années 1970.

Tests de qualité

Un cadre de gestion de la qualité des eaux de surface fut développé à l’occasion du Plan régional pour le cours inférieur de l’Athabasca (Lower Athabasca Regional Plan - LARP).  Des limites et des seuils relatifs à la qualité de l’eau ont été déterminés afin de signaler à l’avance des tendances défavorables et d’établir des limites de qualité minimale à ne pas franchir. Une intervention doit être déclenchée dès que les seuils ou les limites sont dépassés.

Le cadre de gestion de la qualité des eaux de surface s’appuie, sans toutefois les remplacer, sur la législation et les politiques provinciales sur la qualité de l’eau, les eaux usées et l’environnement aquatique. Il ne remplace pas les systèmes de gestion existants, comme le signalement des déversements et la surveillance de l’eau potable. Il permet cependant de combler une lacune importante en fournissant un cadre pour la surveillance et le contrôle à long terme des changements cumulés, relatifs à la qualité de l’eau dans le cours inférieur de l’Athabasca.

Le Programme de surveillance des milieux aquatiques régionaux (Regional Aquatics Monitoring Program - RAMP) est une initiative financée par l’industrie, axée sur l’analyse de la qualité de l’eau dans la région des sables bitumineux.  RAMP est un programme multipartite de surveillance environnementale qui vise à intégrer les activités de surveillance aquatique à différents aspects de l’environnement aquatique, différentes zones géographiques et autres projets d’exploitation des sables bitumineux de l’Athabasca.  Ainsi, les tendances à long terme, les enjeux régionaux et les effets cumulatifs potentiels liés aux sables bitumineux et à d’autres projets pourront être identifiés et abordés.

Protection de la rivière Athabasca

La rivière Athabasca est l’un des cours d’eau les plus surveillés dans le monde. Des analyses en continu permettent d’assurer que la qualité de l’eau et les débits ne sont pas compromis par des activités industrielles. Malgré la croissance annoncée dans le secteur des sables bitumineux, les rivières Athabasca, Peace et Beaver (où se trouvent des sites d’exploitation des sables bitumineux) demeurent parmi les bassins hydrographiques les moins utilisés en Alberta. La qualité de l’eau de la rivière Athabasca est surveillée par Environnement Canada, dans le cadre du Plan de surveillance intégré visant les sables bitumineux.

La rivière Athabasca a toujours renfermé des niveaux mesurables de composés d’hydrocarbures naturellement présents, provenant des sables bitumineux, y compris des hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques, une catégorie de produits chimiques présents dans le charbon, le pétrole brut et l’essence. Ils sont également produits lors de la combustion du charbon, du pétrole, de l’essence, du bois, des déchets et du tabac.  C’est dû au fait que le bitume provenant des sables bitumineux exposés sur les berges de la rivière s’infiltre naturellement dans le cours d’eau. L’écosystème aquatique du cours inférieur de la rivière Athabasca s’est adapté à cet environnement naturel.

Par ailleurs, les eaux souterraines de la région contiennent des composés d’hydrocarbures et d’autres éléments qu’on trouve dans les eaux résiduelles, parce qu’elles sont généralement en contact avec les sables bitumineux de la région dans des conditions géologiques normales.

PARTAGER