Markets and Transportation

Diversifying markets for Canadian oil production is vital to ensure Canada receives full value for its natural resources.

Bitumen and oil are transported by a network which involves all modes of transportation; pipelines, rail, marine and trucks. 

Today, essentially all of Canada’s oil exports go to one customer – the United States. Access to multiple customers beyond the United States is crucial to strengthen Canada’s energy future.

The West Coast is a critical outlet for Canadian oil and natural gas to reach new customers. Asian markets are an eight-day to an 11-day sail from proposed West Coast terminals – which is two days faster than most international competitors. Canada is well-positioned to meet the growing demand for oil in developing markets in India, China and Southeast Asia with safe, reliable and responsibly-produced oil, but only if Canadian oil can access tidewater.

Body Natural Gas Potential About LNG Asian Markets Map
 
Eastern Canada currently imports oil from foreign suppliers. Currently, over half of the oil used in Quebec and Atlantic Canada is imported from foreign sources and in 2016, Canada spent almost $14 billion to import foreign oil from the United States, Algeria, Saudi Arabia, Venezuela, Nigeria, and Norway.

Why do we import foreign oil? 

Pipelines

Pipelines are the most efficient method of transporting large quantities of oil. Today, Canada has limited pipeline infrastructure to move oil from Western Canada to Eastern Canada and beyond to global customers.

Over the next few years, oil supply is expected to exceed existing capacity, requiring expansions and new pipelines to access new and existing markets. Canada needs more pipelines in all directions to move our growing oil supply to more customers.

A number of pipeline projects are proposed to connect the growing supply with growing markets in India, China, and to continue supporting the U.S.

Proposed Pipelines

Source: CAPP, 2017

More than 830,000 kilometres (km) of pipelines crisscross country and they are all regulated. The federal government regulates about 10 per cent of Canada’s pipelines, or more than 73,000 km, which are primarily transmission pipelines.  The remaining pipelines are regulated provincially. 

Types of pipelines

Canada’s pipeline system is made up four groups that deliver energy to Canadians and to export markets such as the United States.  
  1. Gathering Pipelines: 250,000 km of pipeline move crude oil and natural gas in producing areas from the well to oil batteries or natural gas processing facilities. 
  2. Feeder Pipelines: 25,000 km of pipeline, found primarily in producing areas in western Canada, transport crude oil, natural gas, and natural gas liquids (NGLs) from collection points (batteries), processing facilities, and storage tanks to transmission pipelines. 
  3. Transmission Pipelines: 100,000 km of pipeline move crude oil and natural gas within provinces and across provincial or international boundaries.
  4. Distribution Pipelines: 450,000 km of pipeline are operated by local distribution companies, deliver natural gas to various industries, homes and businesses.

Source: NEB

Pipeline performance

Pipelines are a safe and environmentally responsible way to move oil and natural gas. 99.999 per cent of all oil and natural gas products transported through transmission pipelines reach their markets safely (source: CEPA 2017).

In Alberta, where the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) manages provincial pipelines, performance is continuously improving.  AER data indicates that over the last decade, the number of pipeline incidents declined 44 per cent while the length of pipelines grew 11 per cent. 

In addition to adhering to all regulations to ensure safe transport of energy, industry also follows best management practices to help manage pipeline corrosion and operating in high impact areas. 

Marine

Oil tankers have been moving safely and regularly along Canada’s West Coast since the 1930s. Each year, about 580 million barrels of oil are safely transported along Canada’s East and West coasts via tanker. (Source: Transport Canada, 2016) Access to tidewater gives Canadian oil access to U.S. and overseas markets.

All ships transporting oil are regularly inspected against strict international standards. In Canada, 100 per cent of all oil tankers are double-hulled. Large, single-hulled tankers were prohibited in 2010 and can no longer operate in Canadian waters. Double-hulled means the bottom and sides of a vessel have two complete layers of water-tight hull surface. (Source: Transport Canada, 2016)

Image of a double hulled tanker

Although safety regulations make the probability of a spill extremely low, detailed response protocols are in place. Canadian legislation is based on the “polluter pays” principle. Although probability of a spill is extremely low, a total of $1.36 billion per incident is in place to cover cleanup costs. Learn more about funding for spill response and insurance.

In the unlikely event there is an incident, the Western Canada Marine Response Corporation (WCMRC) is certified by Transport Canada to respond to crude oil spills up to 10,000 tonnes (65,000 barrels within a prescribed time). WCMRC has a fleet of more than 40 emergency response vessels, with the latest response equipment, and maintains a network of response bases, equipment and personnel across coastal B.C. 

Rail

Rail remains an important piece of the transportation network, allowing producers the flexibility to move to different markets in response to demand opportunities. It also complements pipeline capacity and provides an alternative for markets without pipeline connections.

In recent years, rail transport of oil has grown as an alternative mode of transportation to accommodate the rapid growth from new supply regions that quickly exceeded available pipeline capacity. In 2016, about 100,000 barrels per day of oil were moved by rail. Rail loading capacity in Western Canada is currently about 754,000 barrels per day. (Source: CAPP)

In 2015, measures were taken by U.S. and Canadian governments to enhance and align standards for rail safety. Ongoing safe transport of hydrocarbons is in the interest of oil and natural gas producers and all Canadians – so the industry can continue to deliver jobs and economic benefits. 

Related

Transportation Safety

There are a number of organizations committed to the safety of Canada's oil transportation systems.

Marchés et transport

Il est essentiel pour les producteurs de pétrole canadiens de diversifier leurs marchés, afin de valoriser pleinement les ressources naturelles du pays.

Le bitume et le pétrole sont transportés via un réseau qui comprend divers modes: les pipelines, le transport ferroviaire, le transport maritime et les camions.

À l’heure actuelle, pratiquement tout le pétrole canadien est exporté vers un seul client: les États-Unis. L’accès à davantage de clients, au-delà des États-Unis, est essentiel pour renforcer l’avenir énergétique du Canada.

La côte Ouest représente un important débouché qui permettrait au pétrole et au gaz naturel canadiens d’atteindre une nouvelle clientèle. Par exemple, il serait possible d’atteindre les marchés asiatiques en 8 à 11 jours de navigation depuis les terminaux proposés sur la côte Ouest, soit deux jours de moins que la plupart des concurrents internationaux. Le Canada est donc très bien placé pour répondre à la demande de marchés émergents en Inde, en Chine et en Asie du Sud-Est, avec un pétrole sûr, fiable et produit de façon responsable. Tout cela n’est possible que si le pétrole canadien puisse accéder aux voies navigables.
 


L’Est canadien importe présentement du pétrole de fournisseurs étrangers: plus de la moitié du pétrole utilisé au Québec et dans les Maritimes est importé de sources extérieures. En 2016, le Canada a dépensé quelque 14 milliards de dollars pour importer du pétrole des États-Unis, de l’Algérie, de l’Arabie saoudite, du Venezuela, du Nigeria et de la Norvège.

Pourquoi importons-nous du pétrole? (en anglais)

Pipelines

Les pipelines constituent le mode de transport le plus efficace pour de grandes quantités de pétrole. L’actuelle infrastructure de pipelines du Canada est limitée pour ce qui est du transport du pétrole de l’Ouest canadien vers l’Est et les marchés internationaux.

Au cours des prochaines années, on s’attend à ce que la production de pétrole brut dépasse la capacité des pipelines, ce qui nécessitera des expansions et de nouveaux pipelines pour accéder aux marchés, existants et nouveaux. Cela signifie que le Canada a besoin de plus d’oléoducs, dans toutes les directions, afin d’acheminer une offre croissante de pétrole à plus de clients.

Divers projets de pipeline sont proposés pour relier ce pétrole à des marchés en croissance comme l’Inde, la Chine, et pour continuer à approvisionner les États-Unis.

Source: ACPP, 2017

Plus de 830 000 kilomètres (km) de pipelines sillonnent le pays et sont tous réglementés. De ce fait, le gouvernement fédéral réglemente environ 10% des pipelines, soit plus de 73 000 km, qui sont principalement des pipelines de transport. Les pipelines restants sont réglementés par les provinces.

Types de pipelines

Le réseau de pipelines du Canada comprend quatre groupes qui fournissent de l'énergie aux Canadiens et qui exportent vers des marchés comme les États-Unis.
  1. Pipelines de collecte: 250 000 km de pipelines transportent du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel dans des zones de production allant du puits aux installations pétrolières ou de traitement de gaz naturel.
  2. Pipelines d'amenée: 25 000 km de pipelines, principalement dans les régions productrices de l'Ouest canadien, transportent du pétrole brut, du gaz naturel et du gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) depuis des points de collecte (installations), des aménagements de traitement et des réservoirs de stockage vers les pipelines de transport.
  3. Pipelines de transport: 100 000 km de pipelines transportent du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel dans les provinces et au-delà des limites provinciales ou internationales.
  4. Pipelines de distribution: 450 000 km de pipelines sont exploités par des sociétés de distribution locale et acheminent du gaz naturel à diverses industries, maisons et entreprises. 

Source: ONE

Performance des pipelines

Les pipelines constituent le moyen de transport le plus fiable et sécuritaire pour le pétrole et le gaz naturel. 99,999% de tous les produits pétroliers et gaziers transportés par pipelines de transport atteignent leur marché en toute sécurité (source: ACPE 2017).

En Alberta, où l'Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) gère les pipelines provinciaux, la performance s'améliore continuellement. Les données de l'AER indiquent qu'au cours de la dernière décennie, le nombre d'incidents liés aux pipelines a diminué de 44% alors que la longueur des pipelines a augmenté de 11%.

En plus de se conformer à toutes les réglementations afin d’assurer le transport sécuritaire de l'énergie, l'industrie suit également les meilleures pratiques de gestion pour aider à gérer la corrosion des pipelines et à opérer dans des zones à fort impact.

Transport maritime

Les pétroliers naviguent régulièrement en toute sécurité le long de la côte ouest du Canada depuis les années 1930. Chaque année, environ 580 millions de barils de pétrole sont transportés en toute sécurité par des pétroliers le long des côtes est et ouest du Canada (Source: Transports Canada, 2016). L’accès à la mer permet au pétrole brut canadien d’être acheminé jusqu’aux marchés américain et internationaux.

Tous les navires transportant du pétrole brut sont régulièrement inspectés conformément à des normes internationales strictes. Au Canada, 100 pour cent des navires pétroliers sont à double coque. Les gros pétroliers à coque simple sont interdits depuis 2010 et ne peuvent plus naviguer dans les eaux canadiennes. Une double coque signifie que le fond et les côtés d’un navire comportent deux couches complètes de surface étanche (Source: Transports Canada, 2016).




Même si la probabilité de déversement accidentel est extrêmement faible en raison des règlements sur la sécurité, il existe des protocoles d’intervention détaillés.  La législation canadienne s’appuie sur le principe « pollueur-payeur ».  Bien que la probabilité d’un déversement soit extrêmement faible, un montant de 1,36 milliard de dollars par incident est disponible afin d’assumer les coûts de nettoyage.  Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur le financement des assurances et des interventions en cas de déversement (en anglais).

Dans l’éventualité improbable d’un incident, la Société d’intervention maritime, Ouest du Canada (Western Canada Marine Response Corporation - WCMRC) est accréditée par Transports Canada pour intervenir en cas de déversements de 10 000 tonnes ou moins (65 000 barils dans un délai prescrit).  La WCMRC dispose d’une flotte de plus de 40 navires d’intervention d’urgence, dotés des plus récents équipements d’intervention ainsi que d’un réseau de postes d’intervention, d’équipement et de personnel, partout sur le littoral de la Colombie-Britannique.

Transport ferroviaire

Le transport ferroviaire demeure un élément important du réseau de transport, en offrant aux producteurs la possibilité de se déplacer vers différents marchés en fonction de la demande. De plus, il complète la capacité des pipelines et offre une solution de remplacement pour les marchés non desservis par des pipelines.

Ces dernières années, le transport ferroviaire de pétrole brut a pris de l’expansion comme autre mode de transportation, en réponse à la forte augmentation de la production dans de nouvelles régions, qui a rapidement excédé la capacité des pipelines existants. En 2016, environ 100 000 barils de pétrole ont été transportés quotidiennement par rail. La capacité du transport ferroviaire dans l’Ouest canadien est actuellement d’environ 754 000 barils par jour (Source: ACPP).

En 2015, les gouvernements américain et canadien ont pris des mesures pour renforcer et harmoniser les normes applicables à la sécurité ferroviaire. Il est dans l’intérêt des producteurs de pétrole et de gaz, et de tous les Canadiens de toujours transporter les hydrocarbures de façon sécuritaire – pour que l’industrie puisse continuer à créer des emplois et à générer des retombées économiques.

PARTAGER

Connexe

Sécurité du transport

Un certain nombre d’organisations veillent à la sécurité des systèmes de transport du pétrole canadien.