Economic Contribution

A strong energy sector is key to ensure Canada’s prosperity for the future.

Canada is falling behind. Competition for capital investment in the global market is fierce and if Canada wants its industry to be a major player internationally, a number of factors need to be considered. Rising government costs, the burden of inefficient regulations, and the lack of infrastructure to move Canadian energy to growing markets are all undermining investor confidence in Canada and negatively affecting the country’s ability to attract the capital needed to create jobs and national prosperity.

Total capital spending was $43 billion in 2017 – a 47 per cent decline compared to $81 billion in 2014. Meanwhile, capital spending in the United States increased by about 38 per cent to $120 billion thanks to a more  streamlined regulatory system.

Source: Statistics Canada, 2017

Capital investment in our energy sector generates development activity, which in turn spurs job creation and economic growth across Canada for all levels of government – including about $19 billion in revenues in 2015 and 533,000 jobs across the nation in 2017.

Learn more about keeping Canada competitive

Jobs across Canada

Oil sands development creates a significant number of jobs outside Alberta. In fact, more than 3,400 Canadian companies outside of Alberta supplied the oil sands with good and services in 2014 and 2015. 

Oil Sands Supply Chain

Value Chain 2017

Source: CAPP 2016

In 2017, the oil sands supported and created more than 228,000 direct and indirect jobs across Canada. (Prism Economics, 2017). Many of these jobs are in provinces outside of Alberta - the goods, materials and services used to construct and operate oil sands projects, mines and upgraders come from across North America. Many of the components — tires, trucks, gauges, valves, pumps, etc. — are produced in Ontario and Quebec.

According to the Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI), almost every region in Canada has been stimulated by oil sands development through job creation and economic activity.

Investment and tax revenue

The oil and natural gas industry is Canada’s largest private sector investor, with oil sands alone injecting almost $13 billion into the economy in 2017. The oil sands industry and its suppliers contribute to government revenues through corporate taxes, personal income taxes, property taxes, royalties, land sales and other costs. Over the next 20 years, the oil sands industry is expected to pay $1.7 trillion in provincial and federal taxes – including royalties. These revenues contribute to government spending on infrastructure, social services and other important programs. A healthy oil sands industry results in higher revenues for governments.

Oil sands royalties

Alberta’s natural resources belong to Albertans. In exchange for the right to develop these resources, companies pay the government a royalty. This is a percentage of revenues generated from the sale of oil and natural gas products, or in some cases takes the product in-kind for the government to sell.

Royalties are just one way oil and natural gas producers contribute to government revenues. Many different government taxation policies affect exploration and development of Alberta’s natural resources.

SHARE

Contribution économique

Un secteur énergétique fort est essentiel pour assurer la prospérité future du Canada

Le Canada perd du terrain. Sur le marché mondial, la compétition est féroce en termes de dépenses d’investissement et si le Canada souhaite que son industrie soit un joueur important sur le plan international, de nombreux facteurs doivent être pris en compte. L’accroissement des dépenses gouvernementales, le fardeau de règles inefficaces de même que le manque d’infrastructures pour transporter l’énergie canadienne vers des marchés en croissance sont tous des aspects qui minent la confiance des investisseurs envers le Canada et affectent négativement sa capacité de réunir les capitaux nécessaires pour créer des emplois et favoriser une richesse nationale.

Les dépenses en immobilisations totales devraient atteindre 42 milliards de dollars en 2018, soit une diminution de 48 pour cent par rapport à 81 milliards, en 2014. Durant la même période, les dépenses d’investissement aux États-Unis augmentaient d’environ 38 pour cent, pour atteindre les 120 milliards $, grâce à un système de réglementation simplifié.

Investissement en capital au Canada

 

Source: Statistique Canada et ACPP, 2018

Dans le secteur énergétique, des dépenses d’investissement génèrent un développement des activités qui crée des emplois ainsi qu’une croissance économique pour tous les paliers de gouvernement, partout au Canada: cela représente 19 milliards $ en revenus pour 2015 de même que 533 000 emplois créés en 2017.

Apprenez-en davantage sur comment maintenir la compétitivité du Canada

Des emplois partout au Canada

L’exploitation des sables bitumineux crée un nombre important d’emplois à l’extérieur de l’Alberta. En effet, plus de 3 400 entreprises canadiennes, en dehors de l’Alberta, ont fourni des biens et des services au secteur des sables bitumineux, en 2014 et 2015.

Chaîne d’approvisionnement de l’industrie des sables bitumineux

 

Source: ACPP 2016

En 2017, le secteur des sables bitumineux a créé plus de            228 000 emplois directs et indirects, partout au Canada (Prism Economics, 2017). Plusieurs de ces emplois sont situés dans des provinces à l’extérieur de l’Alberta: les biens, les services et les matériaux qui servent à construire et à exploiter les projets de sables bitumineux, les mines et les usines de valorisation proviennent de partout en Amérique du Nord. De nombreux éléments - les pneus, les camions, les jauges, les vannes, les pompes, etc. - sont produits en Ontario et au Québec.

Selon le Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI), presque toutes les régions du Canada ont été stimulées par l’exploitation des sables bitumineux, grâce à la création d’emplois et à l’activité économique.

Investissements et revenus fiscaux

L’industrie pétrolière et gazière est le plus important investisseur du secteur privé au Canada. À eux seuls, les sables bitumineux ont injecté près de 13 milliards $ dans l’économie en 2017. L’industrie des sables bitumineux et ses fournisseurs contribuent aux revenus des gouvernements par l’entremise de l’impôt sur le revenu des sociétés et des particuliers, des taxes foncières, des redevances, des ventes de terrains et d’autres coûts. Au cours des 20 prochaines années, les membres de l’industrie des sables bitumineux devraient verser 1,7 billion $ en taxes et impôts provinciaux et fédéraux – y compris les redevances. Les gouvernements investissent à leur tour ces revenus dans les infrastructures, les services sociaux et d’autres programmes importants.  Une industrie des sables bitumineux saine signifie plus de revenus pour les gouvernements.

Redevances sur les sables bitumineux

Les ressources naturelles de l’Alberta appartiennent aux Albertains. En échange des droits d’exploitation de ces ressources, les entreprises versent une redevance au gouvernement. Il s’agit d’un pourcentage des revenus obtenus par la vente de produits pétroliers et gaziers. Les redevances peuvent parfois prendre la forme de produits en nature qui seront vendus par le gouvernement.

Pour les producteurs pétroliers et gaziers, les redevances ne constituent qu’une des façons de contribuer aux revenus des gouvernements. Différentes mesures fiscales des gouvernements touchent l’exploration et l’exploitation des ressources naturelles albertaines.

PARTAGER