Water

Canada's oil sands industry works to use water responsibly, placing high value on Alberta's fresh water resources.

Canada’s oil sands industry is a leader in researching and implementing technologies to maximize recycling and using saline groundwater or other non-drinkable water sources as alternatives to fresh water.

Oil sands mining operations in northern Alberta continually recycle over 78-86 per cent of the water they use. 

Alberta Water Allocations

 

Body Environmental Innovation Water Alberta Water Allocations

Source: Alberta Environment & Parks

In mining operations, warm water is used to separate the bitumen from the sand and clay. For in situ drilling operations, water is used to generate steam to heat the reservoir to enable bitumen to flow to production wells. Upgraders also use steam to heat the bitumen and the oil products for processing and to generate electricity. In addition, water is used in the drilling and completion of in situ wells and in worksite camps for all oil sands operations. On average, in situ operations require 0.21 barrels of fresh water for every barrel of bitumen produced. Mining requires, on average, 2.5 barrels of fresh water for every barrel of bitumen produced. Source: CAPP 2016.

Where does the water come from?

Water is taken from either fresh (surface water, non-saline groundwater) or non-fresh (brackish, saline groundwater, reclaimed municipal wastewater) sources. Mining projects rely on fresh water because the salinity in non-fresh sources interferes with the separation process and hinders reclamation in tailings ponds. Water withdrawals are high when new mining projects get started, but mines become more efficient over time. 

Managing water use

Water optimization efforts have allowed increased bitumen recovery over the last two decades without proportional increases in fresh water use, and this trend is expected to continue in the future. 

To further decrease fresh water consumption, producers use brackish or saline groundwater (groundwater from a deep aquifer that is not suitable for drinking or agriculture) as an alternative to fresh water. In some in situ projects, fresh water is entirely replaced with non-fresh water. Devon Canada Corporation's Jackfish project is one oil sands project that uses only brackish water to create the steam needed to separate oil from sand.

Water treatment normally results in a small stream of wastewater that is either injected into approved deep disposal zones or transported to an approved waste handling facility. The Suncor MacKay River project has implemented changes to its water processing facilities to further reduce the amount of wastewater generated and is demonstrating a fully functional Zero Liquid Discharge (ZLD) system in the oil sands industry. ZLD has a number of benefits, such as recycling more than 98 per cent of a facility’s water requirement.

Regulating

The Alberta Energy Regulator oversees the industry’s use of water. All water users must apply to divert fresh water from its original source. The amount of water allocated is based on sustaining Alberta’s groundwater and surface water.

Each sector applies for water licenses and the government allocates water based on these applications. In 2014, the oil sands industry represented about eight per cent of total provincial water allocations. But not all of that water was actually used. The oil sands industry uses less than 1/3 of its total water allocation per year.

Areas of focus

Water use is an important part of oil sands production. Industry is working to reduce water use and increase water recycling rates at oil sands mining and in situ operations. Water quality can be impacted by industrial activity that occurs on land. Oil sands operations must be carefully managed to avoid affecting the quality of surface water (rivers, streams, lakes, ponds and other fresh water sources) and groundwater.

The Water Technology Development Centre

Basil, a biochemical engineer working in Canada's oil sands industry, explains to his sister Mary how he is helping build the Water Technology Development Centre in northeastern Alberta. The facility will allow operators to efficiently test the development and implementation of new water treatment technologies in the industry.

Learn more at www.energytomorrow.ca.

Innovation

Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) is an alliance of oil sands producers focused on accelerating the pace of improvement in environmental performance in Canada's oil sands through collaborative action and innovation.

Learn more about some of the technologies being developed by the members of the COSIA Water Environment Priority Area:

SHARE

Eau

Les membres de l’industrie canadienne des sables bitumineux veillent à utiliser l’eau de façon responsable et attribuent beaucoup de valeur aux ressources d'eau douce de l’Alberta.

L’industrie canadienne des sables bitumineux est leader dans la recherche et l’instauration de techniques visant à maximiser le recyclage et à utiliser de l’eau souterraine saline ou d’autres sources d’eau non potable, comme solution de rechange à l’eau douce.

Les opérations d’extraction des sables bitumineux recyclent plus de 80 à 95 pour cent de l’eau qu’elles utilisent.

Utilisation de l'eau en Alberta


 
Source: Alberta Environment & Parks

Pour l’extraction minière, de l’eau tiède est utilisée pour séparer le bitume du sable et de l’argile.  Pour le forage in situ, l’eau sert à produire de la vapeur pour chauffer le réservoir et permettre au bitume de s’écouler vers les puits de production. Les usines de valorisation utilisent également de la vapeur pour le traitement du bitume et des produits pétroliers ainsi que pour produire de l’électricité. Aussi, l’eau sert au forage et à la réalisation de puits in situ, de même que dans les camps de travailleurs, pour toutes les activités liées aux sables bitumineux. En moyenne, les activités in situ utilisent 0,21 baril d’eau douce pour chaque baril de bitume produit. Pour sa part, l’extraction minière nécessite 2,5 barils d’eau douce, en moyenne, pour chaque baril de bitume produit. Source: ACPP 2016.

D’où provient l’eau?

L’eau provient de sources d’eau douce (eau de surface, eau souterraine non saline) ou non (eau saumâtre, eau souterraine saline, eaux municipales usées). Les projets d’extraction minière requièrent de l’eau douce car la salinité des sources « autres » nuit au procédé de séparation et entrave la remise en état des bassins de décantation. Les besoins en eau sont élevés au début d’un nouveau projet minier, mais les mines gèrent plus efficacement leur consommation au fil du temps.

Contrôler l’utilisation de l’eau

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, l’optimisation de l’utilisation de l’eau a permis d’accroître la récupération du bitume, sans augmenter proportionnellement l’utilisation de l’eau douce. On s’attend à ce que cette tendance se poursuive dans le futur.

Afin de réduire davantage leur consommation d’eau, les producteurs utilisent de l’eau saumâtre ou de l’eau souterraine saline (eau souterraine d’un aquifère profond, impropre à la consommation ou à l’agriculture) au lieu de l’eau douce.  Pour certain projets in situ, l’eau douce est entièrement remplacée par de l’eau de source autre. Le projet de sables bitumineux Jackfish, de Devon Canada, n’utilise que de l’eau saumâtre pour produire la vapeur nécessaire à la séparation du pétrole et du sable.

Habituellement, le traitement de l’eau produit une petite quantité d’eau usée qui est injectée dans une profonde zone approuvée d’évacuation, ou transportée vers une installation de traitement des déchets approuvée. Le projet MacKay River de Suncor a apporté des changements à ses installations de traitement des eaux afin de réduire davantage la quantité d’eau usée produite. Cela démontre qu’il est possible, pour l’industrie des sables bitumineux, de recourir à un système ne produisant aucun rejet liquide (Zero Liquid Discharge ou ZLD). Un tel système présente de nombreux avantages, comme la possibilité de recycler plus de 98 pour cent de l’eau utilisée par une installation.

Réglementation

L’Alberta Energy Regulator encadre l’utilisation de l’eau faite par l’industrie. Tous les utilisateurs d’eau doivent produire une demande pour détourner de l’eau douce de sa source première.  Les allocations d’eau visent à conserver les eaux de surface et souterraines de l’Alberta.

Chaque industrie doit faire une demande de permis d’utilisation de l’eau et le gouvernement accorde des allocations en conséquence. En 2014, l’industrie des sables bitumineux représentait environ huit pour cent de toutes les allocations d’eau provinciales. Dans les faits, cette eau n’est pas entièrement utilisée. En effet, l’industrie des sables bitumineux utilise moins du tiers de son allocation annuelle totale.

Domaines prioritaires

La consommation d’eau est un volet important de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux. Les membres de l’industrie cherchent à réduire leur consommation d’eau et à intensifier le recyclage de l’eau sur les sites d’extraction minière et de forage in situ. Les activités industrielles se déroulant sur les terres peuvent avoir un impact sur la qualité de l’eau. Il faut gérer avec soin l’exploitation des sables bitumineux, afin d’éviter de nuire à la qualité des eaux de surface (rivières, ruisseaux, lacs, étangs et autres sources d’eau douce) et des eaux souterraines.

Innovation

L’Alliance canadienne pour l’innovation dans les sables bitumineux (COSIA) regroupe des producteurs de sables bitumineux qui cherchent à accélérer l’amélioration de la performance environnementale de leur secteur, grâce à la collaboration et à l’innovation.

Découvrez-en davantage à propos de certaines des technologies que sont en train d’élaborer les membres de la COSIA dans le cadre du domaine environnemental prioritaire que constitue l’eau:

PARTAGER