Air

Canada's oil sands industry works to reduce air emissions associated with our development activities through project design, operational excellence, innovation and technology.

Canada, with 0.5 per cent of the world's population, produces less than 1.5 per cent of global CO2 equivalent emissions. Oil sands account for 10 per cent of Canada's GHG emissions and about 0.15 per cent of global GHG emissions.

Global Emissions and Canada's Emissions

Source: Environment and Climate Change Canada 2018 & World Resources Institute 2017

Greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions are important in a global context. Other air emissions associated with oil sands development are important at the local level. These emissions include nitrogen dioxide (NO2), sulphur dioxide (SO2) and fine particulate matter, which are primarily created through fuel combustion in facilities and vehicles.

Learn more about GHG emissions in Canada's oil sands.

Areas of focus

Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) is an alliance of oil sands producers focused on accelerating the pace of improvement in environmental performance in Canada's oil sands through collaborative action and innovation.

Innovating to Compete

Through COSIA, oil sands companies are investigating ways to reduce energy use and associated GHG emissions through the development of innovative technologies for oil sands in situ and mining operations, including:

  • improving energy efficiency in all aspects of oil sands operations, including the production of steam for in situ recovery of bitumen;
  • recovering waste heat for reuse;
  • design and operating best practices;
  • measurement, monitoring, and verification;
  • reducing flaring, venting, and fugitive emissions;
  • CCS of CO2 from steam generators and other large oil sands facilities;
  • producing alternative energy; and
  • exploring regional opportunities to reduce GHG emissions with non-industry parties.

Air quality

Alberta has a comprehensive air quality management system that is used to address air issues and concerns. This comprehensive approach to managing air quality includes industrial approvals, ambient air monitoring, management frameworks and regional planning. 

Alberta was the first North American jurisdiction to introduce a GHG emission reduction policy, which is currently one of the most rigorous in Canada. In 2015, the Government of Alberta introduced the Climate Leadership Plan, which focuses on:

  • putting a price on greenhouse gas emissions
  • ending pollution from coal-generated electricity by 2030
  • developing more renewable energy
  • capping oil sands emissions to 100 megatonnes per year
  • reducing methane emissions by 45% by 2025
Learn more about greenhouse gases and climate change.

Air quality monitoring

Over the past 40 years, the Government of Alberta has been conducting environmental monitoring activities under the Environment Protection and Enhancement Act. As natural resource development activities have increased significantly in that time – particularly within the oil sands region in northern Alberta – the province has recognized the need to strengthen its monitoring, evaluation and reporting activities, especially in terms of understanding the cumulative effects and impact on the environment.

The Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) monitors the environment of the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo in north-eastern Alberta. WBEA operates in an area where the main industry is oil sands development and operates the most extensive ambient air network in Alberta with 17 air monitoring stations and 23 passive monitoring stations to date.

SHARE

Related

CAPP on Climate

Canada’s oil and natural gas industry works to reduce air emissions associated with our development activities through project design, operational excellence, innovation and technology.

Air

L’industrie canadienne des sables bitumineux s’efforce de réduire les émissions atmosphériques associées à ses activités d’exploitation en misant sur la conception des projets, l’excellence opérationnelle, l’innovation et la technologie.

Le Canada, qui compte pour 0,5% de la population mondiale, produit moins de 1.5% des émissions mondiales d’équivalent CO2. Les sables bitumineux représentent 10% des émissions canadiennes de GES et environ 0,14% des émissions mondiales de GES.




Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) constituent un enjeu important à l’échelle planétaire. D’autres émissions atmosphériques associées à l’exploitation des sables bitumineux sont importantes à l’échelle locale. Il s’agit des émissions de dioxyde d’azote (NO2), de dioxyde de soufre (SO2) et de particules fines, principalement créées par la combustion du carburant des véhicules et du combustible des installations.

Cliquez ici pour en apprendre davantage sur les émissions de GES liées à l’industrie canadienne des sables bitumineux.

Domaines prioritaires

L’Alliance canadienne pour l’innovation dans les sables bitumineux (COSIA) regroupe des producteurs de sables bitumineux qui cherchent à accélérer l’amélioration de la performance environnementale de leur secteur grâce à la collaboration et à l’innovation.



Par l’entremise de COSIA, les entreprises exploitant les sables bitumineux cherchent des moyens de réduire la consommation d’énergie et les émissions de GES connexes, grâce à l’élaboration des technologies novatrices suivantes, appliquées au forage in situ (sur place) et à l’extraction minière des sables bitumineux:
  • Amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique de tous les volets de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux, y compris la production de vapeur pour la récupération du bitume in situ;
  • Récupération et réutilisation de la chaleur générée par les déchets;
  • Conception et mise en œuvre de pratiques exemplaires;
  • Mesures, surveillance et vérification;
  • Réduction des émissions causées par le torchage ou l’évacuation de l’air, et des émissions fugitives;
  • Capture et stockage du CO2 provenant des générateurs de vapeur et d’autres grandes installations d’exploitation des sables bitumineux;
  • Production d’énergies de remplacement;
  • Examen des possibilités de réduire les émissions de GES à l’échelle régionale avec des intervenants extérieurs à l’industrie.

Qualité de l’air

L’Alberta s’est dotée d’un système complet de gestion de la qualité de l’air qui permet d’aborder les enjeux et les préoccupations liés à l’air. Son approche globale de gestion de la qualité de l’air comprend des approbations de l’industrie, la surveillance de l’air ambiant, des cadres de gestion et une planification régionale.

L’Alberta fut la première administration en Amérique du Nord à adopter une politique de réduction des émissions de GES. Celle-ci est présentement l’une des plus rigoureuses au Canada. En 2015, le gouvernement de l’Alberta a instauré un Plan de leadership en matière de changement climatique qui vise à: 
  • imposer une tarification des émissions de gaz à effet de serre
  • mettre fin à la pollution causée par les centrales électriques au charbon, d’ici 2030
  • développer davantage d’énergies renouvelables
  • limiter les émissions de l’industrie des sables bitumineux à 100 mégatonnes par année
  • réduire les émissions de méthane de 45%, d’ici 2025

Cliquez ici pour en apprendre davantage sur les gaz à effet de serre et les changements climatiques.

Surveillance de la qualité l'air

Depuis les 40 dernières années, le gouvernement de l’Alberta mène des activités de surveillance environnementale, en vertu de l'Environment Protection and Enhancement Act. Puisque les activités d’exploitation des ressources naturelles ont considérablement augmenté durant cette période - particulièrement dans la région des sables bitumineux, au nord de l’Alberta - la province a reconnu la nécessité de renforcer ses activités de surveillance, d’évaluation et de déclaration, surtout pour comprendre les effets et les impacts cumulatifs sur l’environnement.

La Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) (en anglais) surveille l’environnement de la municipalité régionale de Wood Buffalo, au nord-est de l’Alberta. La WBEA exerce ses activités dans une zone où l’industrie dominante est l’exploitation des sables bitumineux et dirige le plus important réseau de surveillance de la qualité de l’air. À ce jour, elle dispose de 17 stations de surveillance de l’air et de 23 stations de surveillance passive.

PARTAGER