Uses: Fuels and Consumer Products

Oil is an important part of daily life in Canada and all over the world. This powerful source of energy moves us, heats our homes and creates jobs – and makes up an important component of everyday consumer products.

All forms of energy are needed to support a growing world population and improve quality of life. Canada’s oil sands will play an important role in meeting these needs.

How is energy used in Canada?

Transportation accounts for 23 per cent of the total energy that Canadians consume — second only in consumption to Canada’s industrial sector. That translates to 200 million litres of gasoline and diesel pumped into fuel tanks across the country on a daily basis just for mobility, without which our modern lifestyle would be impossible.

Developing the oil sands for fuel and products means balancing energy demands with economic benefits and environmental impacts.

Average output from a barrel of oil

Oil fuels our everyday life

The majority of output from a barrel of Canadian oil is used for transportation and mobility, upgraded into several types of fuel:

  • Gasoline: designed for spark-ignition internal combustion engines, commonly used in private and commercial vehicles.
  • Diesel: designed for engines commonly used in trucks that ship goods, buses and public transport, locomotives and farm and heavy equipment. Diesel contains more energy and power density than gasoline.
  • Aviation fuels: specialized petroleum-based fuels used to power various types of aircraft for commercial travel and shipping.

Thousands of everyday products get their start from crude oil. Raw materials used to create items including dishwashing liquid, eyeglasses, DVDs, tires and heart valves are derived from feedstocks from crude oil.

How many petroleum products did you use today?

How many petroleum products did you use today?

SHARE

Related

Balancing efficiency and the environment

In order to remain competitive, in-situ producers are optimizing their operations with technological innovations that lower the volume of steam required to produce one unit of oil – a key measure of efficiency.

Utilisations: Carburants et produits de consummation

Le pétrole joue un rôle important dans la vie quotidienne, au Canada et partout ailleurs dans le monde. Cette puissante source d’énergie nous permet de nous déplacer et de nous chauffer et crée des emplois – et constitue aussi un composant important de produits que nous utilisons tous les jours.

Nous avons besoin de toutes les formes d’énergie à l’appui d’une population mondiale en constante augmentation et pour améliorer notre qualité de vie. Les sables bitumineux canadiens vont jouer un rôle important pour répondre à ces besoins.
 
Comment utilise-t-on l’énergie au Canada?
 
Le secteur des transports représente 23 % de la consommation totale d’énergie des Canadiens — il occupe le deuxième rang après les industries du pays. Cela représente 200 millions de litres d’essence et de diesel alimentant chaque jour les réservoirs à essence de tout le pays juste pour nos déplacements, sans lesquels notre mode de vie d’aujourd’hui serait impossible.
 


 
En exploitant les sables bitumineux afin d’en tirer du carburant et des produits, nous créons un équilibre entre, d’une part, la demande énergétique et, d’autre part, les retombées économiques et les impacts environnementaux.
 
Le pétrole alimente notre vie quotidienne
 
La majeure partie d’un baril de pétrole canadien est utilisée à des fins de transport et de mobilité, après avoir été valorisée sous la forme de divers types de carburant:

  • Essence : conçue pour les moteurs à combustion à bougies, qui équipent généralement les véhicules privés et commerciaux.
  • Diesel : conçu pour les moteurs équipant généralement les camions qui transportent des marchandises, les autobus et véhicules de transport en commun, les locomotives, les machines agricoles et l’équipement lourd. La densité énergétique et la densité de puissance du diesel sont supérieures à celles de l’essence.
  • Kérosène : carburant spécialisé à base de pétrole, qui alimente divers types d’aéronefs destinés au transport commercial de passagers et de marchandises.

Des milliers de produits utilisés quotidiennement proviennent du pétrole brut. Les matières premières qu’on utilise pour créer des produits comme le liquide pour lave-vaisselle, les lunettes, les DVD, les pneus et les valvules cardiaques proviennent de matières de base elles-mêmes dérivées du pétrole brut.


PARTAGER

Connexe

Trouver l’équilibre entre efficience et environnement

Pour demeurer concurrentiels, les producteurs optimisent leurs activités in situ grâce à des innovations technologiques qui réduisent la quantité de vapeur nécessaire à la production d’une unité de pétrole – mesure clé de l’efficience.