Recovering the Oil

Oil is recovered using two main methods: mining and in situ. The method employed depends on how deep the oil sands reserves are deposited.

80 per cent of the oil sands reserves are too deep to be mined, so will be recovered through in situ methods. 20 per cent of the oil sands reserves are close enough to the surface to be mined. Mining allows operators to recover more of the oil, while using less energy. Drilling is a more energy-intensive process but allows for a smaller footprint and does not require tailings ponds. 

Due to the depth of the reserves, recovery rates for the methods of extracting bitumen vary. Drilling methods cannot be used in mining areas, and vice-versa.


Open-pit mining

How oil sands is mined

Mining is used when deposits lie within 70 meters (200 feet) of the earth’s surface – approximately 20 per cent of oil sands reserves. Like most surface mining operations, the oil sands are scooped by large shovels into trucks and taken to crushers where the large clumps of clay are broken down. The oil sands are then mixed with hot water so they can travel through a pipeline to a plant where the bitumen is separated from the other components.

Tailings ponds are an operating facility common to all types of surface mining. In the oil sands, tailings consisting of water, sand, clay and residual oil are pumped to these basins – or ponds – where settling occurs and water near the top is reused for future mining recovery. Click here to find out more about tailings ponds. 

In situ drilling

Drilling methods are used for reserves that are more than 70 meters (200 feet) below the surface, and must be recovered in place, or in situ. 

Advanced technology is used to inject steam, combustion or other sources of heat into the reservoir. The heat warms the bitumen so it can be pumped to the surface through recovery wells. Advances in technology, such as directional drilling, enable in situ operations to drill multiple wells (sometimes more than 20) from a single location, further reducing surface disturbance.

The majority of in situ operations use steam-assisted gravity drainage, or SAGD. This method involves pumping steam underground through a horizontal well to liquefy the bitumen, which is then pumped to the surface through a second recovery well.

Steam assisted gravity drainage (SAGD)

A second method – cyclic steam stimulation (CSS) – pumps steam down a vertical well to soak or liquefy the bitumen, which is then pumped to the surface through the same well. This technique is repeated until the oil is removed.

             Cyclic steam stimulation (CSS)

97 per cent of the total surface area of the oil sands region could be developed in situ, allowing for a lesser impact on the land. As of January 2014, there were approximately 50 commercial oil sands projects in Alberta – only five of which were operational mining projects (with a sixth under construction). Find out more about oil sands land impact.

Heavy oil and bitumen processing

Since most refineries in Canada were designed to process conventional light crude oils, some heavy oil and about half the bitumen produced are upgraded to create synthetic crude oil. Synthetic oil is usually low in sulphur and contains no residue or very heavy components. Upgrading can occur at or near the producing area or the refinery.

Upgrading uses temperature, pressure and catalysts to crack the big molecules into smaller ones. Adding hydrogen or removing carbon from the oil creates hydrocarbon molecules like those in light oil. Upgraded oil is used as a replacement for conventional crude oil to make gasoline, diesel, jet fuel and heating oil.

Upgrading is usually a two-stage process:

  • Coking or hydrocracking - used to break up the molecules. Coking removes the carbon, while hydrocracking adds hydrogen.
  • Hydrotreating - used to stabilize the oil and remove impurities such as sulphur.

Over 30 per cent of Canadian oil production is refined in Canada. Approximately 55 per cent of Canada's oil sands are upgraded locally. Bitumen and some heavy oils are too viscus to flow through pipelines and must be diluted with condensate or another natural gas liquid before being transported. Once mixed with a diluent, the dilbit (diluted bitumen) does not separate, but is a new mixture.

SHARE

Related

How big is the oil sands mining footprint?

The total mining footprint is a small fraction of Canada’s Boreal Forest and covers an area about 12 per cent the size of Toronto’s Greater Metropolitan Area or 151,700 CFL fields. As much as 10 per cent of that land has been or is being reclaimed. All land disturbed by mining is required by law to be reclaimed, or returned, to a self-sustaining landscape at the end of a project.

Extraction du pétrole

Il existe deux méthodes principales d’extraction du pétrole. La méthode utilisée dépend de la profondeur des réserves de pétrole se trouvant dans les sables bitumineux.

L’extraction minière permet aux exploitants de récupérer plus de pétrole en consommant moins d’énergie. Le forage consomme plus d’énergie, mais son empreinte écologique est moins importante, et il ne nécessite pas de bassins de décantation des résidus. En raison de la profondeur des réserves, on ne peut pas procéder au forage dans les mines et vice-versa.

Le taux d’extraction du bitume varie d’une méthode à l’autre.

Exploitation à ciel ouvert

On utilise cette méthode lorsque les dépôts se trouvent à un maximum de 70 mètres (200 pieds) sous terre – ce qui représente environ 20 % des réserves de sables bitumineux. Comme pour la plupart des activités des mines de surface, des pelles géantes déposent les sables bitumineux dans des camions, qui les transportent vers les concasseurs, où de gros morceaux d’argile sont fractionnés. Les sables bitumineux sont alors mélangés à de l’eau très chaude, afin qu’ils puissent être acheminés par pipeline jusqu’à une usine où le bitume sera séparé des autres composants.

Les bassins de résidus sont des installations communes à tous les types de mines de surface. Dans la région des sables bitumineux, ces bassins contiennent de l’eau, du sable, de l’argile et du pétrole résiduel – la décantation s’y produit, et l’eau se trouvant près de la surface est réutilisée pour de futures opérations minières.

Forage in situ

On recourt au forage pour les réserves se trouvant à plus de 70 mètres (200 pieds) de profondeur, qui doivent être récupérées sur place, ou in situ. Cela s’applique à 80 % des réserves de sables bitumineux.

On utilise une technologie de pointe pour injecter de la vapeur, procéder à la combustion ou créer d’autres sources de chaleur dans le réservoir. La chaleur réchauffe le bitume afin qu’il puisse être pompé vers la surface dans les puits de récupération. Les progrès technologiques comme le forage directionnel permettent de mener des opérations in situ afin de forer plusieurs puits (parfois plus de 20) à partir d’un même endroit, ce qui perturbe encore moins la surface.

La majorité des opérations in situ utilisent le drainage par gravité au moyen de vapeur (DGMV). Cette méthode consiste à injecter de la vapeur en sous-sol par un puits horizontal afin de liquéfier le bitume, qui est alors pompé vers la surface par un deuxième puits de récupération.

Une deuxième méthode – la stimulation cyclique par la vapeur d’eau – consiste à injecter de la vapeur dans un puits vertical afin d’inonder ou de liquéfier le bitume, qui est alors pompé vers la surface par le même puits. On répète cette technique jusqu’à ce que le pétrole soit extrait.

En Alberta, 97 % de la superficie de la région des sables bitumineux pourrait être exploitée in situ, ce qui aurait moins d’impact sur les terres. En janvier 2014, une cinquantaine de projets commerciaux d’exploitation des sables bitumineux étaient en cours en Alberta – dont seulement cinq étaient des mines (une sixième est en construction).

Transformation du pétrole lourd et du bitume

Étant donné que la plupart des raffineries du Canada ont été conçues pour transformer du pétrole brut léger conventionnel, on valorise une partie du pétrole lourd et près de la moitié du bitume produit afin de créer du pétrole brut synthétique. Celui-ci a généralement une faible teneur en soufre et ne contient ni résidus ni composants très lourds. La valorisation peut se faire sur le site de production ou dans la raffinerie, ou à proximité.

Pour procéder à la valorisation, on utilise la température, la pression et des catalyseurs afin de fractionner les grosses molécules en plus petites molécules. En ajoutant de l’hydrogène ou en éliminant le carbone du pétrole, on crée des molécules d’hydrocarbures identiques à celles du pétrole léger. On utilise le pétrole valorisé à la place du pétrole conventionnel pour fabriquer de l’essence, du diesel, du kérosène et du mazout.

La valorisation se fait généralement en deux étapes:
  • Cokéfaction ou hydrocraquage – À cette étape, on fractionne les molécules. La cokéfaction élimine le carbone, tandis que l’hydrocraquage ajoute de l’hydrogène.
  • Hydrotraitement – À cette étape, on stabilise le pétrole et on élimine les impuretés comme le soufre.
Seulement un peu plus de 30 % de la production de pétrole canadien est raffinée au Canada. Environ 55 % du pétrole issu des sables bitumineux canadiens est valorisé localement. Le bitume et certains pétroles lourds sont trop visqueux pour couler dans les pipelines, selon les exigences des exploitants de ces pipelines. Les utilisateurs de pipelines doivent donc diluer le produit avec un condensat ou un autre liquide de gaz naturel pour pouvoir l’acheminer. Une fois mélangé à un diluant, le dilbit ne se sépare pas, mais devient un nouveau mélange.

PARTAGER

Connexe

Quelle est l’empreinte écologique de l’extraction des sables bitumineux?

L’empreinte écologique totale des projets miniers représente une faible proportion de la forêt boréale canadienne, et couvre une superficie équivalant à 12 % de la région du Grand Toronto, ou à 151 700 terrains de football. Près de 10 % de ces terres ont déjà été remises en état ou sont en cours de remise en état. La loi exige que toutes les terres perturbées par l’extraction minière soient remises en état ou rétablies sous forme de paysages autosuffisants au terme d’un projet.