Wildlife

Oil sands producers take extensive efforts to minimize impact to wildlife habitat.

Industry recognizes that, working with the government and others, it can play a constructive role in positively impacting wildlife and biodiversity on the landscape through:

  • Participating in multi-stakeholder land use strategies
  • Participating in environmental monitoring programs
  • Improving operational performance
  • Investing in research

Land Use Strategies

Industry is an active participant in regional land use planning and is supporting implementation of the Alberta government’s Lower Athabasca Regional Plan (LARP). Implementation of this plan will enable the balanced land use planning and cumulative effects management of the region. 

Environmental Monitoring

The Alberta Environmental Monitoring, Evaluation and Reporting Agency (AEMERA) is responsible for wildlife and biodiversity monitoring in the oil sands region and administers the Joint Oil Sands Monitoring (JOSM) program, which industry funds.

AEMERA evaluates the cumulative effects of operations on biodiversity, based largely on data gathered by the Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute (ABMI).

The ABMI facilitates collaboration between government, industry, academic and environmental groups on maintaining Alberta’s biodiversity.

Learn more about AEMERA’s biodiversity and land activities.


Operational Performance

Oil sands producers take extensive efforts to minimize impact to wildlife habitat by optimizing the area needed for well sites and working with other landscape users to reduce the disturbance footprint by sharing roads and pipelines. 

Oil sands operations have specific wildlife mitigation and monitoring plans in place that require regulatory approval before operations occur in the landscape. These programs are developed for each project with applicable results and progress reported to the regulator. The programs typically include habitat enhancement and restoration work, and monitoring. 

Research

Industry is addressing complex issues related to integrated land management within Alberta’s boreal forests. Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) Land Environmental Priority Area (EPA) is focused on reducing the footprint intensity and impact of oil sands mining and in situ (in place) operations on the land and wildlife of northern Alberta.

Caribou

Boreal caribou are one of Canada’s most recognizable national symbols, but their populations are falling across Canada. Declining caribou herds are a complex issue and all stakeholders, as well as the provincial and federal governments, have a role to play in working towards collective and broad-based solutions.

POPULATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF BOREAL CARIBOU IN CANADA

  • Caribou are affected by changes to their habitat. These natural and man-made disturbances can range from seismic lines used to explore the underlying geology to forest fires that naturally regenerate the forest.
  • Large animals like moose, deer and caribou use old seismic lines as transportation corridors as they are easier to move through and have edible shrubs along the edges. However, these corridors serve to concentrate predator-prey interactions as predators learn to use them to hunt more efficiently.
  • Caribou have low reproduction rates. Females don’t produce young until three years of age, and then have only one calf per year. This means boreal caribou herds can’t compensate for large swings in population.

The oil and natural gas industry are collaborating to increase the pace of recovery of the national population of boreal caribou over the long-term and are willing to go beyond the confines of their immediate lease areas to do so. Industry will continue to use collaborative engagement and innovative problem solving to restore caribou habitat, augment caribou population and implement operational mitigation measures. 

Through Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA), initiatives are underway to address legacy linear disturbances and return the boreal forest to high quality caribou habitat.

Through the Regional Industry Caribou Collaboration (RICC) members are working with academia, the Government of Alberta and the Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute (ABMI) Caribou Monitoring Unit to prioritize areas for caribou habitat restoration and coordinate research and monitoring efforts at a regional scale.



SHARE

Related

CAPP Oil Sands Publications

CAPP maintains a variety of publications, presentations, statistics and background information on the oil sands industry.

Faune

Les producteurs de sables bitumineux déploient de nombreux efforts pour minimiser leur impact sur l’habitat de la faune.

Les membres de l’industrie savent qu’en collaborant avec le gouvernement et d’autres intervenants, ils peuvent jouer un rôle constructif et avoir un impact positif sur la faune et la biodiversité des paysages :

  • En participant à l’élaboration de stratégies d’utilisation des terres par de nombreux intervenants
  • En participant à des programmes de surveillance de l’environnement
  • En améliorant le rendement opérationnel
  • En investissant dans la recherche

Stratégies d’utilisation des terres



Les membres de l’industrie participent activement à la planification régionale de l’utilisation de terres, et appuient la mise en œuvre du plan régional du cours inférieur de la rivière Athabasca (LARP). La mise en œuvre de ce plan permettra une planification équilibrée de l’utilisation des terres et une gestion des effets cumulatifs dans la région.  

Surveillance environnementale



L’Alberta Environmental Monitoring, Evaluation and Reporting Agency (AEMERA) est responsable de la surveillance de la faune et de la biodiversité dans la région des sables bitumineux, et administre le programme de surveillance conjointe des sables bitumineux (JOSM), financé par l’industrie.

L’AEMERA évalue les effets cumulatifs des activités d’exploitation sur la biodiversité, en se basant largement sur les données recueillies par l’Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute (ABMI).

L’ABMI facilite la collaboration entre le gouvernement, l’industrie, les spécialistes et les groupes d’environnementalistes axée sur la préservation de la biodiversité de l’Alberta.

Pour en savoir plus sur les activités de l’AEMERA liées à la biodiversité et aux terres.

Rendement opérationnel

Les producteurs de sables bitumineux déploient de nombreux efforts pour minimiser leur impact sur l’habitat de la faune, en optimisant la superficie nécessaire aux puits et en travaillant avec d’autres utilisateurs afin de réduire l’empreinte de perturbation, en partageant les routes et les pipelines.

Les exploitants des sables bitumineux ont mis en place des plans précis de surveillance et d’atténuation des effets sur la faune, qui exigent une approbation des autorités de réglementation avant que l’exploitation des paysages puisse débuter. Ces plans sont élaborés pour chaque projet, et les résultats et les progrès pertinents sont présentés aux responsables de la réglementation. Les plans prévoient généralement des travaux d’amélioration et restauration de l’habitat, ainsi que des activités de surveillance.

Recherche

L’industrie s’attaque aux enjeux complexes liés à la gestion intégrée des terres au sein des forêts boréales de l’Alberta. Dans le cadre du domaine environnemental prioritaire de l’eau, la Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) cherche à réduire son empreinte écologique et l’impact de l’extraction minière et du forage in situ (sur place) des sables bitumineux sur les terres et la faune du nord de l’Alberta.

Caribou

Le nombre de caribous des bois (forêt boréale) a baissé de plus de 30 % au cours des 20 dernières années à l’échelle du Canada. Ils sont considérés comme une espèce menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada et figurent sur la liste des espèces menacées établie par la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Environnement Canada a publié le Programme de rétablissement du caribou des bois, population boréale, qui vise à rétablir des populations locales autosuffisantes dans tout le pays.

Les changements que subit l’habitat du caribou à cause de l’homme ou de phénomènes naturels (comme les incendies de forêt), et l’accès plus facile des prédateurs en raison de ces changements, ont conduit au déclin de l’espèce à l’échelle du Canada. Le problème du caribou est complexe, et nécessite une approche à plusieurs volets pour être réglé efficacement.

Les producteurs de sables bitumineux font leur part pour appuyer le rétablissement du caribou des bois. Ces dernières années, on a observé une amélioration constante des techniques d’exploration et de restauration, qui a permis aux producteurs de minimiser la perturbation des terres, de remettre les forêts en état plus rapidement et de réduire l’impact sur le caribou des bois.

De plus, grâce aux améliorations générées par les nouvelles technologies, les entreprises exploitant les sables bitumineux collaborent désormais en vue de rétablir l’habitat du caribou dans le nord-est de l’Alberta, touché depuis longtemps par les activités d’exploration.


PARTAGER

Connexe

Publications de l’ACPP sur les sables bitumineux

L’ACPP propose un certain nombre de publications, présentations, statistiques et renseignements de base sur l’industrie des sables bitumineux.