Water Use

Water is an important part of oil sands production. As the oil sands industry grows, so does the demand on Canadian water resources.

Canada’s oil sands industry is a leader in researching and implementing technologies to maximize recycling and using saline groundwater or other non-drinkable water sources as alternatives to fresh water. 

Oil sands mining operations in northern Alberta continually recycle over 80-95 per cent of the water they use. Water optimization efforts have allowed increased bitumen recovery over the last two decades without proportional increases in fresh water use - and this trend is expected to continue in the future.

Alberta water allocations

In mining operations, warm water is used to separate the bitumen from the sand and clay. For in situ drilling operations, water is used to generate steam to heat the reservoir to enable bitumen to flow to production wells. Upgraders also use steam to heat the bitumen and the oil products for processing and to generate electricity. In addition, water is used in the drilling and completion of in situ wells and in worksite camps for all oil sands operations. On average, in situ operations require 0.4 barrels of fresh water for every barrel of bitumen produced. Mining requires, on average, 3.1 barrels of fresh water for every barrel of bitumen produced. Source: CAPP 2013.



Where does the water come from?

Water is taken from either fresh (surface water, non-saline groundwater) or non-fresh (brackish, saline groundwater, reclaimed municipal wastewater) sources. Mining projects rely on fresh water because the salinity in non-fresh sources interferes with the separation process and hinders reclamation in tailings ponds. Water withdrawals are high when new mining projects get started, but mines become more efficient over time. 

In some in situ projects, fresh water is entirely replaced with non-fresh water. Devon Canada Corporation's Jackfish project is one oil sands project that uses only brackish water to create the steam needed to separate oil from sand.

The Athabasca River basin

As the primary source of fresh water for the oil sands, the Athabasca River basin plays an important role in Alberta’s industry and ecological landscape. The Athabasca River originates in the Rocky Mountains and flows northeast through the province, past the urban centres of Jasper, Hinton, Whitecourt, Athabasca and Fort McMurray prior to emptying into Lake Athabasca. Flows from the basin eventually make their way to the Arctic Ocean.

The Athabasca River is one of the most intensely monitored bodies of water in the world, with ongoing analysis to ensure that water quality and flow rates are not compromised by industrial operations. Even with forecast oil sands growth, the Athabasca, Peace and Beaver River basins (where oil sands development occurs) remain among the least utilized river basins in Alberta.

Managing water use

Canada’s oil sands industry is a leader in researching and implementing technologies to maximize recycling and using saline groundwater or other non-fresh water sources as alternatives to fresh water. Water optimization efforts have allowed increased bitumen recovery over the last two decades without proportional increases in fresh water use, and this trend is expected to continue in the future.

To further decrease fresh water consumption, producers use brackish or saline groundwater (groundwater from a deep aquifer that is not suitable for drinking or agriculture) as an alternative to fresh water. In some in situ projects, fresh water is entirely replaced with non-fresh water. Devon Canada Corporation's Jackfish project is one oil sands project that uses only brackish water to create the steam needed to separate oil from sand.

Water treatment normally results in a small stream of wastewater that is either injected into approved deep disposal zones or transported to an approved waste handling facility. The Suncor MacKay River project has implemented changes to its water processing facilities to further reduce the amount of wastewater generated and is demonstrating a fully functional Zero Liquid Discharge (ZLD) system in the oil sands industry. ZLD has a number of benefits, such as recycling more than 98 per cent of a facility’s water requirement.

Regulating

The Alberta Energy Regulator oversees the industry’s use of water. All water users must apply to divert fresh water from its original source. The amount of water allocated is based on sustaining Alberta’s groundwater and surface water.

Each sector applies for water licenses and the government allocates water based on these applications. In 2014, the oil sands industry represented about eight per cent of total provincial water allocations. But not all of that water was actually used. The oil sands industry uses less than 1/3 of its total water allocation per year.



SHARE

Utilisation de l’eau

L’eau est un élément important de la production des sables bitumineux. À mesure que l’industrie des sables bitumineux prend de l’expansion, la demande de ressources hydriques augmente au Canada.

L’industrie canadienne des sables bitumineux est un chef de file de la recherche et de l’implantation de technologies visant à maximiser le recyclage et à utiliser de l’eau souterraine salée ou d’autres sources d’eau non potable en remplacement de l’eau douce.
 
Dans le cadre des opérations minières d’exploitation des sables bitumineux du nord de l’Alberta, on recycle entre 80 et 95 % de l’eau utilisée. Les efforts d’optimisation de la consommation d’eau ont permis d’augmenter les quantités de bitume extraites ces 20 dernières années, sans pour autant augmenter la consommation d’eau douce, et cette tendance devrait se maintenir.
 
Dans le cadre des opérations minières, on utilise de l’eau tiède pour séparer le bitume du sable et de l’argile. Dans le cadre du forage in situ, on utilise de l’eau pour générer la vapeur qui chauffera le réservoir, et permettra au bitume de s’écouler jusqu’aux puits de production. Les usines de valorisation utilisent également de la vapeur pour chauffer le bitume et les produits pétroliers en vue de les transformer, et pour produire de l'électricité. En outre, pour toutes les opérations d’exploitation des sables bitumineux, on utilise de l’eau lors du forage et de l’aménagement des puits in situ, ainsi que dans les camps installés sur les sites. En moyenne, les activités in situ nécessitent 0,4 baril d’eau douce par baril de bitume produit. L’extraction minière nécessite en moyenne 3,1 barils d’eau douce par baril de bitume produit.
Source : ACPP, 2013. 

 

D’où vient l’eau?
 
L’eau provient soit de sources d’eau douce (eaux de surface, eaux souterraines non salées), soit de sources d’eau non potable (eau saumâtre, eaux souterraines salées, eaux usées municipales traitées). On ne peut pas utiliser d’eau salée pour l’extraction minière, parce que la salinité nuit au processus de séparation; par ailleurs, le sel présent dans les bassins de décantation nuirait à la remise en état. On utilise beaucoup d’eau durant la mise en route de nouveaux projets miniers, mais moins à mesure que le temps passe.
 
Pour certains projets in situ, l’eau douce est entièrement remplacée par de l’eau non douce. Le projet Jackfish de Devon Canada Corporation est un des projets d’exploitation des sables bitumineux qui utilisent uniquement de l’eau saumâtre pour produire la vapeur nécessaire à la séparation du pétrole et du sable.

Bassin de la rivière Athabasca
 
Parce qu’il est la source d’eau douce principale de la région des sables bitumineux, le bassin de la rivière Athabasca joue un rôle important pour l’industrie et le paysage écologique de l’Alberta. La rivière Athabasca prend sa source dans les Rocheuses et coule vers le nord-est de la province, en traversant les municipalités de Jasper, Hinton, Whitecourt, Athabasca et Fort McMurray avant de se jeter dans le lac Athabasca. Le bassin débouche sur l’océan Arctique.
 
La rivière Athabasca est un des cours d’eau les plus surveillés au monde; des analyses constantes garantissent que les activités industrielles ne nuiront pas à la qualité de l’eau et au débit de la rivière. Même si l’on prévoit une croissance de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux, les bassins des rivières Athabasca et Beaver et de la rivière de la Paix (où l’on exploite les sables bitumineux) comptent encore parmi les bassins fluviaux les moins utilisés de l’Alberta.
 
Gestion de l’utilisation de l’eau
 
L’industrie canadienne des sables bitumineux est un chef de file de la recherche et de l’implantation de technologies visant à maximiser le recyclage et à utiliser de l’eau souterraine salée ou d’autres sources d’eau non potable en remplacement de l’eau douce. Les efforts d’optimisation de la consommation d’eau ont permis d’extraire davantage de bitume au cours des vingt dernières années sans augmentation proportionnelle de la consommation d’eau douce, et on s’attend à ce que cette tendance se maintienne.
 
Afin de faire baisser davantage la consommation d’eau douce, les producteurs utilisent de l’eau souterraine saumâtre ou salée (eau provenant d’aquifères profonds qui n’est pas potable et ne peut être utilisée pour l’agriculture) à la place de l’eau douce. Pour certains projets in situ, l’eau douce est entièrement remplacée par de l’eau non douce. Le projet Jackfish de Devon Canada Corporation est un des projets d’exploitation des sables bitumineux qui utilisent uniquement de l’eau saumâtre pour produire la vapeur nécessaire à la séparation du pétrole et du sable.
 
Normalement, le traitement de l’eau génère une petite quantité d’eaux usées qui est soit injectée dans des zones d’élimination profondes approuvées, soit acheminée à une usine de traitement approuvée. Dans le cadre de son projet sur la rivière MacKay, Suncor a modifié ses installations de traitement des eaux usées afin de réduire encore plus la quantité d’eaux usées générée, et utilise un système pleinement fonctionnel sans aucun rejet liquide au sein de l’industrie des sables bitumineux. Ce genre de système présente divers avantages, notamment la possibilité de recycler plus de 98 % de l’eau consommée.
 
Réglementation
 
L’organisme albertain de réglementation de l’énergie supervise la consommation d’eau de l’industrie. Les utilisateurs d’eau doivent demander l’autorisation de détourner l’eau douce de sa source d’origine. La quantité d’eau allouée est calculée en vue de préserver les eaux souterraines et de surface de l’Alberta.
 
Chaque secteur demande des permis d’utilisation de l’eau, et le gouvernement alloue les quantités d’eau en fonction de ces demandes. En 2014, l’industrie des sables bitumineux a obtenu environ 8 % des allocations totales d’eau de la province. Mais, en fait, cette eau n’a pas toute été utilisée. L’industrie des sables bitumineux consomme moins du tiers de l’eau qui lui est allouée chaque année.
 

PARTAGER