Water Monitoring

Oil sands projects are required to conduct extensive hydrological studies as part of the Environmental Impact Assessment process and perform ongoing monitoring of both surface and groundwater that may be impacted by operations.

Industry and government have been closely monitoring the region’s water quality since the 1970s.

The Athabasca River has always had measurable levels of naturally occurring oil sands-derived hydrocarbon compounds, including Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons. This is because bitumen from exposed oil sands along the riverbanks seeps naturally into the Athabasca River as it cuts its way through the landscape. The aquatic ecosystem in the Lower Athabasca River has adapted to this natural environment.

Groundwater in the region also contains hydrocarbon compounds and other components found in tailings water because groundwater is routinely found to be in contact with oil sands under normal geologic conditions in the region.

Protecting the Athabasca River

The Athabasca River has always had measurable levels of naturally occurring oil sands-derived hydrocarbon compounds, including Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons. This is because bitumen from exposed oil sands along the riverbanks seeps naturally into the Athabasca River as it cuts its way through the landscape. The aquatic ecosystem in the Lower Athabasca River has adapted to this natural environment.

Groundwater in the region also contains hydrocarbon compounds and other components found in tailings water because groundwater is routinely found to be in contact with oil sands under normal geologic conditions in the region.

SHARE

Surveillance de l’eau

Les membres de l’industrie et le gouvernement surveillent de près la qualité de l’eau de la région depuis les années 1970.

Les responsables des projets d’exploitation de sables bitumineux doivent mener des études hydrologiques approfondies dans le cadre de l’évaluation des impacts environnementaux, et surveiller régulièrement constamment les eaux souterraines et de surface susceptibles d’être touchées par leurs activités.

Protection de la rivière Athabasca

 Il y a toujours eu dans la rivière Athabasca des niveaux mesurables de composés d’hydrocarbures provenant des sables bitumineux naturellement présents dans le cours d’eau, ce qui inclut les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques. C’est dû au fait que le bitume provenant des sables bitumineux exposés sur les berges de la rivière s’infiltre naturellement dans le cours d’eau. L’écosystème aquatique du cours inférieur de la rivière Athabasca s’est adapté à cet environnement naturel.

Par ailleurs, les eaux souterraines de la région contiennent des composés d’hydrocarbures et d’autres éléments qu’on trouve dans les eaux résiduelles, parce qu’elles sont généralement en contact avec les sables bitumineux de la région dans des conditions géologiques normales.

PARTAGER

Connexe

Est-ce que le contenu des bassins de résidus peut s’infiltrer dans les eaux souterraines?

L’infiltration provenant des bassins de résidus peut survenir en petites quantités. Cependant, l’argile qui se dépose au fond des bassins crée une couche à faible perméabilité qui protège les eaux souterraines.