Community Involvement

Companies operating in the oil sands area continually work to create and ensure ongoing community benefits.

Most of the oil sands are located in the Athabasca area. Fort McMurray, Alberta, is the largest city in the area, which also includes a number of smaller communities and several aboriginal communities.

For many of the oil sands companies, these communities are not only where they operate, but where their people live. As such, it is our intent that stakeholders feel that their community is improved by industry being there.

Oil sands companies are active in communities through training and employment, by providing local engagement opportunities on project plans, by contributing to the tax base and by providing funding and volunteer support to local charitable and community-based organizations.

As an association, CAPP and its members regularly engage with local community groups who are interested in receiving more information about our industry, including town councils, local chambers of commerce and community leadership groups.



Oil Sands Community Alliance

OSCA pursues innovative solutions to help build innovative and thriving communities. In 2013 they spent $11.7 million to facilitate consultation opportunities with local communities.

Participation des collectivités

Les entreprises implantées dans la région des sables bitumineux s’efforcent constamment de générer des avantages pour les collectivités et de préserver ces avantages.

La plupart des sables bitumineux se trouvent dans la région d’Athabasca. Fort McMurray (Alberta) est la plus grande ville de la région, où l’on trouve aussi un certain nombre de plus petites localités et plusieurs collectivités autochtones.

Bon nombre des entreprises exploitant les sables bitumineux sont implantées dans ces collectivités, mais c’est également là que vivent leurs employés. Nous souhaitons donc que les intervenants aient le sentiment que la présence de l’industrie dans leur collectivité est une bonne chose.

Les entreprises exploitant les sables bitumineux sont actives au sein des collectivités en y offrant de la formation et des emplois, en offrant aux résidents la possibilité de participer aux projets locaux, en générant des recettes fiscales, et en apportant une aide financière et le soutien de bénévoles aux organisations caritatives et communautaires locales.

L’ACPP et ses membres communiquent régulièrement avec les groupes communautaires locaux qui souhaitent recevoir plus d’information à propos de notre industrie : conseils municipaux, chambres de commerce locales et groupes composés de dirigeants communautaires.


PARTAGER

Connexe

Oil Sands Community Alliance

L’OSCA cherche des solutions novatrices qui permettront de créer des collectivités innovantes et dynamiques. En 2013, elle a dépensé 11,7 millions de dollars pour faciliter les consultations avec les collectivités locales.