Aboriginal Affairs

Industry works with potentially affected aboriginal groups to seek ways to mitigate the impacts of oil sands development.

Alberta's aboriginal population is young and growing. With a number of aboriginal communities located near oil sands developments, solid relationships with industry have created mutually beneficial employment and business opportunities.

We believe that people living close to our operations should share in the benefits in ways that are meaningful to them. As an industry we strive to actively engage those communities through regular communication to identify both concerns and meaningful benefits. CAPP member companies work with aboriginal communities to seek ways to mitigate the impacts of oil and gas development in their traditional territory. Depending on the scope of the development, this consultation may occur throughout the life of the project, from initial project planning through to final reclamation.

Aboriginal Supply Chain

In 2013 and 2014, more than 300 aboriginal companies from across Alberta had direct business (goods and/or services) with oil sands, natural gas and pipeline companies. This business generated around $4 billion dollars over the past two years. These companies represent 54 communities across Alberta. (Source: CAPP 2015)

Oil sands companies proudly contribute time, skills and financial support to enhance communities where we work. In 2013, these companies contributed more than $6 million to aboriginal communities in Wood Buffalo and Lac La Biche regions for school and youth programs, celebrations, cultural events, literacy projects and other community programs. (Source: OSCA 2014)

Affaires autochtones

Industrie travaille avec des groupes autochtones potentiellement touchés à chercher des moyens d'atténuer les impacts du développement des sables bitumineux.

La population autochtone de l’Alberta est jeune et en augmentation. Étant donné qu’un certain nombre de collectivités autochtones se trouvent près de sites d’exploitation des sables bitumineux, les liens solides établis avec les membres de l’industrie ont généré des possibilités d’emploi et d’affaires mutuellement avantageuses. 

Nous croyons que les personnes vivant près des sites d’exploitation devraient tirer parti des avantages générés de façon constructive. En tant qu’industrie, nous nous efforçons de mobiliser ces collectivités en communiquant régulièrement avec elles, afin de définir à la fois leurs préoccupations et les retombées que nous pouvons leur offrir. Les entreprises membres de l’ACPP travaillent avec les collectivités autochtones pour trouver des moyens d’atténuer les impacts de l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière sur leur territoire traditionnel. Selon l’ampleur de l’exploitation, cette consultation peut avoir lieu pendant toute la durée de vie d’un projet, de la planification initiale à la remise en état finale. 

En 2013 et 2014, plus de 300 entreprises autochtones réparties dans l’ensemble de l’Alberta ont fait directement affaire (produits et/ou services) avec des entreprises de l’industrie des sables bitumineux, du gaz naturel et des pipelines. Cette collaboration a généré près de 4 milliards de dollars au cours des deux dernières années. Ces entreprises représentent 54 collectivités à l’échelle de l’Alberta. (Source : ACPP, 2015) 

Les entreprises exploitant les sables bitumineux sont fières de contribuer à l’amélioration des collectivités dans lesquelles elles sont implantées, grâce au temps, aux compétences et au soutien financier investis. En 2013, ces entreprises ont injecté plus de 6 millions de dollars dans les collectivités autochtones des régions de Wood Buffalo et Lac La Biche : programmes destinés aux écoles et aux jeunes, célébrations, événements culturels, projets d’alphabétisation et autres programmes communautaires. (Source : OSCA, 2014)


PARTAGER