Canada's oil sands industry is working to improve the management of tailings ponds, both in the monitoring of active tailings ponds and in developing technologies to move them into reclamation sooner.

A tailings pond is an engineered dam and dyke system used as a settling basin/storage container for the mixture of water, sand, clay and residual oil that is left over after oil sands processing. Tailings ponds are settling basins that enable process water to be separated and continuously recycled. Oil sands producers recycle 80-95 per cent of water used, reducing use of fresh water from the Athabsca River and other sources.

Tailings ponds can remain part of an active mine operation for 30-40 years, either for tailings deposits or for storage and water recycling. The first tailings pond, Suncor’s Pond One (Wapisiw Lookout), completed surface reclamation in 2010. Strict regulations and a comprehensive monitoring program are in place to mitigate potential impacts.

About oil sands tailings

Areas of Focus

A key component of reducing and managing tailings is better management and use of water on site. Industry aims to minimize the use of high-quality fresh water and to reduce the volume of water stored in tailings ponds.

New and innovative opportunities for water re-use and regional sharing of existing water allocations among key players in the oil sands area are being developed.


Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) is an alliance of oil sands producers focused on accelerating the pace of improvement in environmental performance in Canada's oil sands through collaborative action and innovation.

Examples of current projects include:

Résidus

Les membres de l’industrie canadienne des sables bitumineux s’efforcent d’améliorer la gestion des bassins de résidus, à la fois en surveillant les bassins existants et en élaborant des technologies visant à les remettre en état plus rapidement.

Un bassin de résidus est un système composé d’un barrage et de digues qui sert de réservoir/bassin de décantation pour le mélange d’eau, de sable, d’argile et de pétrole résiduel qui subsiste après le traitement des sables bitumineux. Les bassins de résidus permettent de séparer l’eau de traitement, qui est continuellement recyclée. Les producteurs de sables bitumineux recyclent 80 à 95 % de l’eau qu’ils utilisent, réduisant ainsi les prélèvements d’eau douce dans la rivière Athabasca et d’autres sources.

Les bassins de résidus peuvent appuyer les opérations minières pendant 30 à 40 ans, que ce soit pour gérer les résidus ou pour stocker et recycler l’eau. Le premier bassin, baptisé Suncor’s Pond One (Wapisiw Lookout) a été remis en état sous forme de surface dure en 2010. Il existe une réglementation stricte et un programme de surveillance complet destinés à atténuer les impacts potentiels.

Domaines prioritaires

Un des éléments essentiels de la réduction et de la gestion des résidus est l’amélioration de la gestion et de l’utilisation de l’eau sur le site. Les membres de l’industrie cherchent à minimiser l’utilisation d’eau douce de qualité supérieure et à réduire le volume d’eau stocké dans les bassins de résidus.

On est en train d’élaborer des méthodes novatrices de réutilisation de l’eau et de partage à l’échelle régionale des allocations d’eau existantes entre les intervenants clés.

Innovation

La Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) regroupe des producteurs de sables bitumineux qui cherchent à accélérer l’amélioration de la performance environnementale de leur secteur grâce à la collaboration et à l’innovation.

Voici des exemples de projets en cours:

PARTAGER